Governments around the world spend too much money on treating illnesses and diseases and not enough on health education and prevention.

Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The emerging of numerous diseases and illnesses recently has caused governments to spend a considerable amount of health budgets for treatment immediately, hence overlooking the significance of education and prevention. In my opinion, I firmly support the idea that governments should allocate more financial resources to preventing rather than curing.

Strong preparation can stop any unwanted outbreaks of diseases. In this regard, governments play a vital role in educating their citizens about leading healthy lives through sufficient campaigns. If the governments failed to do so, whenever there would be a sudden epidemic, it would adversely affect the whole population due to lacking backup methods. A particularly striking example for this would be the US government at the beginning of the Corona pandemic, if the government had prepared and alerted the citizens in advance, the US would have not been the leader in the number of death when COVID-19 stroke the country.

Excellent health education can prolong humans’ life expectancy. In other words, when the younger generation can comprehend the importance of eating hygienic food and living healthy lives, their lifespans would extend as long as they continue keeping the habits. In fact, this practice has been proven effective since humans are now expected to live until the age of 80 as a minimum. This can not be achieved with only the help of modern and advanced treatment, but also the education about the benefits of living healthy.

Admittedly, people sometimes do not care about the consequences of their actions. Some people would continue to use cigarettes despite knowing how negatively it would cause lung cancer. However, governments can put a halt to this by enacting stricter legislation to limit the amount of smoke production. Moreover, individual also has a role in encouraging their relatives to stay away from unhealthy habits such as smoking. Therefore, with the joint effort of governments and individuals, humans can live in a healthier society.

To recapitulate, I strongly believe that substantial preparation and outstanding education trumps effective treatments by any means. From this perspective, both governments and individuals play an essential role in preventing and educating to reach the result of a better living condition, where diseases and illnesses would be minimized as much as possible.