In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Living in an era full of competition, parents often expect their children to be prodigy and keep telling their kids that they can reach their dreams if they try their best. In my opinion, this kind of encouragement can be a double-edged sword because it would push the kids to go beyond their limits but also causing disappointment in case of failure.

On the one hand, the first beneficial impact of this motivation would be helping children exceed their potential. Along with the encouragement from their parents, kids nowadays often come into contact with comics and movies that tend to use a motif of an ordinary character who overcomes many obstacles and finally becomes a hero. In this regard, these youngsters would feel inspired and attempt to imitate their favorite characters, then eventually break through their parents’ expectations or even their own ones. An illustration of this point would be me, who tried extremely hard to study physics and ended up receiving the first prize for secondary high schoolers in my hometown. I believe that I would not have made it without my parents’ encouragement.

On the other hand, a severe drawback of this practice is depression when failing. Kids are often full of hope about their future so that they would fight for it with all they have. However, in case they stumbled upon a hindrance and could not escape from it, then they would see themselves as a failure. Furthermore, this belief would stay with the kids as long as they do not accept the situation to move on, and the feeling of misery would drown and prevent them from trying again. Despite this, parents should be responsible for encouraging the kids when ups and downs.

To sum up, telling children to pursue their dreams with all their effort would help them surpass their limit, even though they would feel anxious when they could not make the task done. I firmly believe that parents should be with their kids to overcome these situations.