Traffic congestion is a growing problem in many cities today. What are some of the causes of traffic congestion and what measures can be taken to help reduce it?

Nowadays, it is not uncommon that traffic congestion has become an issue for countless cities around the world. The following essay will provide two major causes contributing to traffic jams, and give some feasible solutions to solve this problem.

To begin with, private cars have been prioritized when it comes to traveling short distances because there has not been safe public transportation for people to rely on. It is believed that pickpocketing on public transports has been so critical that people would try to avoid it at all costs. This belief, as a result, may turn people away from public transports. In addition, another notable cause is that anyone can purchase a car these days. With the help of financial institutions, there would be no trouble filling out the form of lending loans for buying a car. Thus, these two roots of issue contribute to an overwhelming number of cars filling up our streets and eventually causing traffic congestion.

Fortunately, there are two possible ways to tackle this issue. First, governments should allocate more financial resources to improve the public transportation system. With a more secure system, by installing cameras on public transports, for example, people would feel safe using these means of transportation since they would not be worried about issues like pickpocketing anymore. Another effective remedy is to raise the taxes on cars, so people would be discouraged from buying and using the vehicles and consequently public transports would be a valid alternative. For instance, in Spain, car taxes are so high that more than half of the daily commuters choose the train, bus, or subway rather than their cars.

To sum up, it is undeniable that a poor public transportation system and the accessibility to cars nowadays have been creating a serious problem of traffic congestion, but I believe that higher taxes and an enhanced public transportation system would put a halt to this matter.