Traffic congestion is a growing problem in many cities today. What are some of the causes of traffic congestion, and what measures can be taken to help reduce it?

Nowadays, the unsustainable growth of traffic congestion has become an issue of greater concern for countless cities worldwide. A lack of an efficient and reliable public transportation system, and the relatively easy access to consumer credit to buy automobiles can be considered as main reasons of this problematic situation. Luckily, by upgrading the public transportation means and by imposing high taxation on passenger cars could be feasible remedies to solve this problem.

Needless to say, people at large would always prefer to use private cars when they do not have a safe and effective public transportation. This collective behavior results in an overwhelming number of cars in circulation, causing congestion problems and pollution. As well, another notably root of this issue is that anyone can purchase a vehicle these days. Financial institutions, particularly in developed countries, with few information or paperwork, and in a short period of time, approve car loans. This facility to get money and buy cars is filling up our roads and streets with motor vehicles producing serious traffic jam, specially at rush hours.

Fortunately, governments has the right answer to tackle this growing situation. First, public administration could allocate a higher amount of funds to modernize and enhance the public transportation system. Having a reliable and modern system, it would definitely have a deterrent effect on people, attracting them to use it as a best alternative to commute. Another wisely solution would be raise the taxes on cars. People would be discouraged from using their vehicles, and consequently would adopt public transportation as the more economic means. In Valencia, Spain, the car taxes are so high that more that 50% of the daily commuters choose the train, bus or subway rather than their cars.

In conclusion, it is an undeniable fact that the ever increasing number of cars in major cities is creating a serious problem of congestion, but governments can easily put a halt to this by increasing taxes or ameliorating its public transportation system.