Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement??

The way in which governments use public funding is a matter of controversy. It is argued by some that major investments should be done in ameliorating public services rather than in arts (music, theater etc.), since there is no a palpable benefit from it. I partially agree with this statement as both areas should have equal approach.

There is no doubt that by having modern, efficient and good public services (hospital, schools, roads, and the like), the quality of life of people would be definitely better. For instance, if educational centers are properly equipped, with top-notch teachers, our kids would receive an excellent education. That is why, public administrations always destined a significant amount of its budget to this area each fiscal year.

On the other hand, recreational activities is an intrinsic part of human being. It is an indispensable area not only for entertainment purposes, but alto it is the main way to trigger creative, particularly in children. Spain, aware of this undeniable fact, during the last 10 years has allocated a quarter of its annual funds to ameliorate theaters, music halls and gallery arts to offer a breadth of artistic activities and event to its citizens.

In conclusion, although it is true that governments should paid special attention to public services as they are a way to measure nation's quality of life, it is also true that arts, in all its expressions, is also a factor of that equation, and as such should be also taken into account.