It is inevitable that as technology advances, traditional cultures will be lost. It seems that we cannot have these two things together.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, it is thought that traditional rituals or social customs can disappear because of the ever-advancing technology. This is explained by the argument that folklore and tech are opposite poles that repel each other. I firmly disagree with this inaccurate statement since, by contrary, thanks to the cutting-edge tech the world is witnessing that our traditions, values and cultures are stronger than ever before.

First, the Internet is the modern and most used vehicle that people use to teach, learn and be updated. There are thousands websites that offer detail information about history, traditions, historical places, etc., of any country or nation, in form of videos, electronic texts, documentaries, etc. Wikipedia is a good example of this kind of site, which contains accurate info about almost anything, and the best of all is free.

Second, many internet platforms, such as YouTube, Periscope, and the like, are used to forecast local festivities, religious mass, worldwide. Moreover, those people who have not the opportunity to visit in person museums, historical buildings, can easily be there virtually, just by paying a small fee, they can enjoy a virtual visit to those places. In Spain, for instance, its famous and well-known The Prado Museum, offers a virtual guided visit through its official website.

To sum up, although it is true that technology has become a greater distractor, particularly for teenagers, stealing a considerable amount of time, it is also true that has helped the world by allowing the information, knowledge and cultures to reach anyone. Thus, our sacred and beloved traditions will not be forgotten at all.