Childhood obesity is increasing at rapid rates in developed countries.

What are some of the causes of this problem? What are some ways in which childhood obesity rates can be reduced?

Obesity amongst children is a growing concern in developed nations, since they are witnessing an overwhelming increase in numbers of obese kids. The cheap price of processed food and the lack of physical exercise could be considered as main causes of this epidemic. Fortunately, local governments can easily tackle this social issue by imposing high taxes on unhealthy foods and making mandatory the practice of exercise.

First, it is a palpable fact that the price of unhealthy/processed food (those fulled of sugar and unnameable ingredients) is quite cheaper than healthy ones (vegetables, fruits, organic product). Families, particularly low-income, prefer to spend their food budget in this type of food, since a big amount of products can be bought with less money. Secondly, it is no a secret that nowadays kids spends hours on end either watching TV or playing video games. They barely do exercise, or even practice a sport, resulting in a sedentary lifestyle. These two factors, an unhealthy diet and a lack of exercise, highly contribute to the childhood obesity.

Luckily, there are feasible solutions to overcome this problem. Public administrations can enact legislation in which taxes levied on processed foods. This extra charge on food products would definitely act as a deterrent for families who normally buy these items. Additionally, by law, governments can declare the act of exercising as an intrinsic obligation for all kids, making directly liable parents, with economic fine, if kids don't practice a sport or exercise their bodies.

To sum up, the uncontrolled increase of obese children is due to the fact that many families feed theirs kids with the cheapest food on the market, and do not encourage them to do exercise, letting that TV being their best friend. However, governments hold the power to put a halt on this increasing problem by making high taxable unhealthy foodstuffs and by legally obligating kids to exercise.