Many countries are experiencing population growth and need more homes. Should these new homes be constructed in existing cities or should new town be built in the countryside? Explain and give your own opinion

The world's population is increasing at a fast pace, which is giving rise to concern in many nations that urgently require extra homes to house those new inhabitants. This undeniable fact raises the question of whether the new homes should be built within city limits, or whether new residential zones should be developed on the outskirts. In my opinion, each of this scenarios have advantages and disadvantages, and would affect the economic and society differently.

On one side, local governments would definitely spend much less money on planning, developing and building the new dwelling units. The existing public infrastructure (water supply, roads, public lighting, ect.) would be almost sufficient to cover the new demand, the so governments would invest the pertinent public funds on a small infrastructure expansion. There would not be need to increase taxes to raise money, thus family economy would not be affected negatively. However, the more people live in the same city, the more crowded will be. In other words, the number of city residents would increase exponentially, resulting in public services (hospitals, schools, welfare services) virtually collapsed, which in turn would have a negative effect on the quality of life of the society.

On the other side, new towns on the city peripheries would offer more green areas, more contact with the nature, and more relaxed life, factors that deeply influence in the life of all human being in any society. In addition, the new homes would be more ample, bigger as there would be enough land to planning comfortable units. Unfortunately, living outside of the big cities, or in small towns far from them, has the inconvenients of spending much time on commuting. Most of their residents would still work in the city, where the most of the jobs are. This would provoke that families share less time together as much of it would be waste on roads.

To sum up, the unstoppable population growth is putting pressure on different parts of the world. This brings up the complex issue of building new homes on the actual cities or on the outskirts of them. Whichever would be the alternative selected, it would impact the community at large and the local economy positively and negatively.