Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

Before enrolling in university, more and more students are eager to seek a journey to explore their inner self and learn more about the world. While some people see this practice as a wise idea, others believe that gap-takers are wasting their time on education. In my opinion, I strongly side with people who believe that a gap year is a beneficial chance for students to improve their soft skills before returning to college and increase their job recruitment in the future.

Traveling to different develop students' soft skills. In this regard, students often choose to participate in voluntary works to gain more experience in communication and team-working. Besides that, researchers have clarified that students who are willing to take a gap year can perform better communication when either working alone or in a team than those who do not participate. Furthermore, it is undeniable that this communication skill would be so handful for students when applying for a job.

Boosting job recruitment opportunities is another beneficial aspect. Many employers have agreed that gap-taker students would have more practical experiences about their jobs rather than those who just have a plain degree. To illustrate this, my uncle failed a job interview because he had not taken a gap year despite his high GPA in university. Moreover, putting down an activity from a gap year in your CV would likely attract employers who want to hire people with a broad knowledge about the position that they offer.

Admittedly, spending an extra year seems to be time-wasting. People would argue that learning would be a faster way to pursue your dream; however, this belief would be unrealistic if the students had no intention of what they wanted to do. Hence, taking a gap year would help students spend time on look into their souls and search for their interests.

To sum up, the benefits of taking a gap year trumps the belief of time-wasting. I strongly believe that a gap year can push ones’ limit to the extreme for the purpose of extending their own social knowledge proving themselves in front of the job recruiters’ eyes. In the future, taking a gap year would be a dominant trend that all students should take into their consideration before going straight off to college.