International travel has become cheaper, more and more countries have opened their doors and more tourist go abroad, for travelling. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh the disadvantages.

With the advent of technology, a vast number of cheap and comfortable sources of travel are available. This had made it easy for tourists to visit other countries and places. This industry of tourism has many advantages except some disadvantages.

Firstly, tourism has many monetary advantages. Tourism is an important part of economy. To illustrate its add to foreign exchequer, creates income and generated jobs. Also tourism industry develops many other industries like hotel industry, transportation and restaurants. Besides tourism proves informatory. People increase their knowledge of various fields like cultures, geographical areas and their realm of perspective widens. Then, tourism alleviates tension. It brings recreation and relaxation. For instance, people visit mesmerizing spots and forget their sorrows .

On the other hand, the sector is associated with negative externalities, such as environment degradation. Tourist may exploit natural environment and increase pollution. For example, tourist put enormous stress on local land use, and can lead to soil erosion, natural habitat loss and more pressure on endangered species. Moreover there are dangers of increase in crime. Tourists are suitable crime targets as they carry money and valuable objects are in a holiday mood and hence tend to be less prudent. There have been surveys in various nation which shows that tourist arrival has a severe impact on criminal against both property and the person.

The comparative analysis definitely shows that advantage of international travelling outweigh the disadvantages. However downsides cannot be overlooked and therefore the governments should take adequate measures to ensure that they reap maximum benefits from this industry.