The Internet is a great course of information and has opened up opportunities or people to learn all over the world.

Is all information reliable on the Internet?

What could be done to control information online?

In the era of technology, the Internet is getting more popular for people all around the world. It is believed to help people enhance knowledge from different countries. However, the information is not entirely reliable. The essay will discuss about this problem and the solutions that citizen and government should do to control the online data.

Although the Internet may be a great browser to search information, it is unsafe for people if they totally believe in all online material because any report on the Internet can be falsified. People can easily upload a random data on the Internet by just one click without controlling. Some people even use the Internet as a tool so that they can spread malicious information with severe purposes such as: defaming the rival, agitating the riot, etc. During COVID 19 pandemic, for example, the number of posts on Facebook from many accounts delivered fake news related to epidemic situation could not be statistically, which made citizen fall into the panic.

Hence, online material should be controlled tightly in many ways. Firstly, people need to become smart readers knowing whether the information should be absorbed or eliminated in order to protect themselves from fake news. In the period of pandemic, government official news sites are always the most reliable sources that citizen can trust. Secondly, the government should tighter the network security by providing sanctions for the acts of spreading fake news.

To sum up, each of the information on the Internet can be faked with bad intentions so that people should be alert to fake news and government need to give more rule to reduce the propaganda of erroneous information.