The internet means that people do not need to travel to foreign countries to understand how others live. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is tempting to view the world wide web as a substitute for real travel because a plethora of video blogs and documentaries make real-life experience meaningless. However, further analysis shows that true sensations cannot be replaced by virtual emotions.

On the one hand, hundreds or even thousands of other peoples’ experiences of traveling around a destination may be a lot more formative than ours. Tourists uploading their travel blogs or explorers video recording their journeys will tell us more about a spot than we would, providing we had a 2-week vacation. For example, Orel and Reshka TV program shows to the audience all beauties and diversities of places a tourist can visit. This and many other similar examples allow us the conclusion that with the internet capacity, we can crisscross the world without leaving our home and learn a great deal more from other travelers’ experiences than we would ourselves.

On the other hand, observing a foreign country through the screen and other people’s vision is a poor practice. It is vital to get acquainted personally with the culture and its traditions as travelling gives people real emotions and impressions. Can we smell the breeze of the Mediterranean Sea by seeing people delighted? Can we taste and enjoy Italian pizza by looking at the tourists dining out in a cozy café? Or can we feel the pleasant warmth of the sun in Egypt by seeing people basking on the sandy beach? Of course, not. Until the technologies can convey senses, we will have to visit the places of interest by ourselves if we wish to get new feelings.

Summing up, it is true that the capacity of the internet technologies allows people to explore the world without the need to leave their homes and get a broader perspective on the places of their interest than they would, supposed they would travel on their own. Nevertheless, technologies have not achieved the level of humans yet and cannot replace the real experience full of new sensations, such as smell, taste and feel.