Interviews form the basic selecting criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that the interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and there are other better methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Interviews has become increasingly popular method of choosing workers. Some people believe that the way to opt for salary earners is not the optimum strategy and there are more effective approaches. I mostly object to the point of view as the technique is not time-consuming and practical even though other methods have their advantages.

The first reason why I advocate to the use of inverviews is that it buys time for both workers and companies. A particular formal conversation between interviewers and interviewees may take under two hours, which saves a great deal of time and energy for both job seekers and recruiters. It appears that other techniques including phone screening may take less hours, but the approach is unable to clarify qualifications as well as reliability of applicants, especially those who are silver-tounged.

Additionally, face-to-face interactions de facto enables head hunters to learn about people looking for employment opportunities. Body language, choices of clothes, and even use of perfume would reflect personalities and trustworthiness of a person while being interviewed. The appearance of interview candidates thus provides a detailed insight for firms to assess whether they are suitable for companies’ culture and values.

Admittedly, there are alternatives for building companies’s workforce. One prime example is an entrance test, which can be harnessed to evaluate intelligence as well as EQ level of potential staff. While tests can be productive in amassing manual laborers, they may not work well in terms of dealing with high-profile workers in managerial roles, who are more sophisticated. In such case, the position of interviews is invaluable.

In summary, I somewhat disagree with the perspective that interviews are not qualified for selecting potential workers as the solution is time-saving, insightful, and manifests multi-faceted aspects about individuals. Albeit the utilization of other methods such as testing may be appropriate in certain situations, it is unable to replace interviews in selection of management positions.