Studies show that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison so they can get a job when leaving prison. Do you agree or disagree?

It is proven by scientists that people commiting crimes owing to their lack of education. People, therefore, think that the most effective instrument to get rid of crimes is to equip prisoners with jobs when they finish their time in prisons. I somewhat agree with this perception as the approach opens the opportunity for the crininals making money and dodge the negative impacts from other criminals, albeit it may not work out for those who habitually violate the law.

It is a well-known fact that the main inducement of crime is money. If the people who have done wicked things are enabled to land a job, they can make their livelihood. By having a stable source of income, the people can shake off poverty and better themselves. In the long run, given the benefits received from their education when being imprisoned, former criminals can raise their living standard and become a good citizen of their community.

Another merit of job training for former criminals is that it alienates them from the impacts of criminal peer effects, the phenomenon at which law-breakers under the pressure of their like-minded friends, re-offend the regulations. This would not only pose a threat to society but place them at risk of more severe sentences due to recidivism. The education for those who are used to violating the law, would ameliorate the implications that the habitual criminal behaviors have on them.

Admittedly, there are law-breakers who have a tendency to repeat their scrupulous acts and education and job training may not be able sufficient for those people to get rid of recidivism. As criminal behaviors integrate to some people's personalities, and gradually becomes their nature. The educational support of the authorities for them may not be necessary. However, these people are few, it thus still needs the interference of responsible individuals and organizationa to provide proper work training for the prisoners.

In sum, I mostly side with the view that people who are kept in prison should be educated about work. The method provides the former law-breakers with chance to make their living and relieves them of the drive to re-commit crimes, even though it may not work on individuals who have the tendency to repeatedly disobey the law.