It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university What are the advantage and disadvantages of this

It is thought by many young people around the world that taking a year off between finishing high school and beginning university may be a chance to do things like travelling. Although this can have many advantages for the youngsters such as gaining a real-life experience, it can also mean falling a year behind academically. In this essay, I will outline the advantage and disadvantages of this.

One evident benefit to taking a gap year after graduating from high school is the experience that would-be students may gain. Whether it be to travel or to work, this would allow the youngsters to become more independent and learn more about themselves and their career choices. Travelling, for instance, gives the opportunity to young people to grow through experiencing and overcoming challenges. Work experience provides real-life skills that will help the theoretical knowledge they will gain at university. Even if the jog is unrelated to job aspirations, learning how to deal with customers, cooperate with colleagues and take on responsibilities are all valuable tools for students.

There are, however, obvious disadvantages to having a year off before enrolling to a university. One flip side is being a year behind academically. In other words, this means starting one’s university program a year later and thus graduating a year later than one’s peers. In addition to this, there are some financial drawbacks. Some scholarships, for example, do not allow students to defer, so the decision to take a gap year might result at a loss of a grant, which may mean long-term debt.

In conclusion, while taking a year off after high school can bring significant personal benefits, there are potential problems in terms of academic progress. As long as an individual is aware of their future direction, a gap year can be an extremely rewarding experience.