The internet has transformed the way information is shared and consumed but it has also created problems that did not exist before What are the most serious problems associated with the internet and what solutions can you suggest

In recent times, the World Wide Web has revolutionized the way we share and use information. However, it has brought problems to our lives. One serious issue, especially among teenagers, is cyberbullying. A possible solution would be to criminalize this behavior with tough measures such as police prosecution.

A growing issue associated with the internet is that it has become easier for anonymous users to attack others via social media platforms. One age group in particular that this phenomenon affects are teenagers who often use smartphones and social media to communicate. As a result, worldwide there have been cases of online bullying and threats among this age group with terrible consequences to this activity, such as young people committing suicide. To illustrate this, a study from the Samaritans in the UK in 2014, stated that a large proportion of 13 to 18 year olds they had been a victim of online bullying and even contemplated suicide.

One possible way to tackle this problem would be to implement tough legal measures to stop this growing threat to people online, particularly youngsters. This would mean schools involving police community support officers when a cyberbullying incident is reported. Consequently, a bullying incident can then be investigated fully and a prosecution can be carried out. For instance, fines or community service for serious offenders, in addition, child support officers can give assistance to the victims to ease psychological damage. In the case of adults carrying out online harassment and threats, possible prison terms or heavy fines could act as a deterrent.

To sum up, due to the way the internet has changed how people share information and communicate, online harassment has become a serious issue especially among youngsters. To tackle this, criminal prosecutions would need to be implemented to crack down on this behaviour.