It is generally agreed that fewer people today write letters (through the mail or

post) compared with the twentieth century. What factors have led to this

situation? What will the impact be on the lives of future genereations?

The presence of modern technology, nowadays, has been changed the way people communicate, where they have no longer sending a letter via mail or post. There seem to be two main factors, and a number of impacts, which we will discuss here.

The major cause, perhaps, is time delivery which becomes longer. When persons send letters through post office to their relatives, they might wait for days to accept the reply, because the messages would go through long process until it is arrived by the receiver. Furthermore, It appears that delivering messages via electronic devices like handphone is considered to be more efficient and practical, where they could receive information within minutes even seconds only.

Regarding the effects felt by future generations, probably the main impact is lack of handwriting skills. We could see handwritten letters are often longer, that means people have habituated to write five to ten sentences, while writing through a gadget they just write one sentence or one word even worse. These habits might teach them to develop their writing skills. In addition, the other main impact is on employment rates that might decrease. When people prefer using gadgets as their communication tool, there would be a reduction in the post office revenue. This could lead to the decline of employees, especially when their wage goes down as well.

Taking everything into account, the causes of this trend are primarily to do with fast delivery and technology development. Meanwhile, the effects are felt in terms of handwritten skills and unemployment rates.