It has been said that people who read for pleasure have more developed imaginations and language skill than people who prefer to watch TV. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some people believe that reading for pleasure can hone both skills of imaginations and language rather than watching TV. I completely agree with this opinion.

Reading for enjoyment can help people develop their imagination and language skills in many ways. Firstly, while watching TV is said to be a kind of passive activity, reading is consider to be an active form of learning. Reading books stimulate people’s brain as they have to use their imagination to visualize characters and plot of stories, which helps them develop their imaginative thinking skills. Secondly, if people read books regularly, especially foreign languge books, they would meet a whole host of not only new structures but also new vocabularies, which help them speak and write better.

However, watching TV does a little of improving skills in both imagination and language for some reasons. First, since programs on TV, such as movies, are always broadcasted and spoke on a fast pace, hence viewer will have a little amount of time to catch up and comprehend its contents, which limits their abilities to think about anything new. Furthermore, there is too much advertisement on TV these days, which distracts viewers from what they are seeing. This makes it even more difficult for people to absorb information that help them enhance their skill of language.

In conclusion, I completely agree that reading books is a more efficient way to develop imagination and language skills than watching TV, which should be considered as just a source of news.