It has been said that people who read for pleasure have more developed imaginations
and better language skills than people who prefer to watch TV. Do you agree or
disagree?
Some people think that reading for pleasure increases people’s imagination and language
skills more so than watching TV does. Personally, I totally agree with this view and will analyze
the reasons in the following essay.
Reading for enjoyment can help people to develop their imagination and improve their
language skills in many ways. Firstly, while watching television is said to be more of a passive
activity, reading is considered to be an active form of learning. Reading stimulates people’s
brains more as they have to use their imagination to visualize the characters and plot of the
story, and this helps to further develop their imaginative thinking skills. Secondly, language
skills can also be improved from reading. By reading regularly, people can expand their
vocabulary and learn different grammatical structures and how to use them effectively.
Watching TV, on the other hand, does little to enhance people’s imagination and language
skills. While reading, people have plenty of time to read the text and visualize the content of
the story. However, when watching TV, viewers use their imagination very little, as they can
see the images on the screen. Furthermore, the dialogue of the story or movie is usually
spoken at a fast pace, which does not give viewers much time to comprehend what is being
said, let alone learning anything new. Finally, television is full of advertisements these days
and therefore distracts viewers from what they are watching. This makes it even more difficult
for people to absorb information that might enhance their language skills.
In conclusion, I believe that reading books is a more efficient way for people to enhance their
imagination and language skills while watching TV is simply more of a source of
entertainment.