The news media have too much influence on people’s lives today and this is a negative
development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
It is believed by some that mainstream media channels focus most of their attention on the
problems and urgent issues in society rather than on positive news, and this trend is harmful
to people. I partly agree with this idea because this tendency has both positive and negative
impacts.
On the one hand, a higher frequency of news stories focusing on negative aspects of society
can have detrimental effects on people’s mental state. For example, news about terrorism
and war has become so common in the media that some people may hesitate to travel abroad
for fear of a terrorist attack. Secondly, it can also lead people to misunderstand many aspects
of society. For example, many tabloids, such as 14Channel of Vietnam, have always
focused on exploiting the scandals of celebrities, which can mislead the public into believing
in the flaws of the Vietnamese showbiz. However, in reality, it is an industry where many
people are contributing many great values to society.
On the other hand, the focus on negative issues rather than positive developments is
advantageous in some way. Firstly, the media is an effective way to disseminate information,
to even the most remote places, and this can help to bring people together in order to solve
serious problems. Secondly, it can help to raise awareness amongst citizens. The more
negative stories appear in the media, the higher the chance that people will become aware of
those problems and take action towards a solution. For instance, news about cancer has now
become a common topic in the media, and as a result, a large number of people have
switched to a healthier lifestyle.
In conclusion, there are legitimate reasons for the media to report on all issues, although the
accompanying negative impacts need to be considered.