It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

People believe that punishment is a good method to educate children to distinguish right and wrong from the early stages of their lives. From my point of view, I totally disagree with this opinion due to these following reasons.

Firstly, It not only does not change children's behavior but also adversely affects psychological development. Children can learn from actions that make them feel fear, but they will not fully understand the deeper meaning of education through punishment. In stead of really understand about the reasons why they were wrong, the youngsters are only afraid of adults’ angry feelings and actions so that the wrong actions can be repeated. Day by day, they become worried about what their parents will do if they act a little differently than before, which leads to lack of confidence in future.

Secondly, it is an implicit threat to the relationship in family. Punishment creates a wall that makes both parties unhappy and lead to a distance between family members. To the children that have strong personality, they will be resentful and not submit when punished for unknown reasons and this creates rebellion with worse behavior. Then, a cycle of punishment and resistance goes on and children will gradually move away from their parents.

In conclusion, punishment is no longer an effective method of education. It is better for parents and teachers to find and read researches on children's education, which contains many new and effective methods in modern world so that children can develop well in all three areas of mind, body, and spirit.