It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

The importance of teaching students to distinguish right from wrong has been emphasised in the elementary education, as it helps students to develop socially acceptable behaviours. In achieving this target, the statement contend punishment is helpful. However, in my view, punishment sometimes has counterproductive effects and should not be promoted at school and home.

It is undeniable that punishment has its merits in guiding children to form good behaviours. Most children are too young to tell the right from wrong. For example, children may mimic their parents to drink wines and beers which are detrimental to their health. A certain punishment, such as banning them from having snacks for a week or depleting their rights to watch TV for a couple of days, might help child understand better about the consequence of wrong doings, and thereby forming good behaviours.

However, the drawbacks of punishment are also obvious. Children in their young ages are more likely to disobey their parents' or teachers' instructions. If a severe punishment is placed on them because of a small mistake they make, they may go beyond that and end up in committing crimes. There are lots of teenager criminals who have the history of being punished seriously by their parents or teachers and it finally leads them to develop extreme behaviours.

If the punishment has to be used by parents or teachers, they should conduct it within a predefined boundary. For example, working as a volunteer in local communities for extra hours might be an effective way when children do the wrong things, such as cheating in exams or being late for school. This type of voluntary work can place some labour tasks on children and make them remember the consequence of wrong behaviours more deeply.

In a word, even if a punishment is needed towards children's bad behaviours, it should be in mild ways.