Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Some universities nowadays encourage their students to acquire more knowledge outside their field of study, as it’s important for them to have a successful career in the future. In my point of view, I agree that students should take disparate courses which seem to be irrelevant with their major to develop their critical and creative thinking ability.

One of the reasons students are reluctant to learn things outside their majors is that they have been put too much pressure on their field of study. With the fierce competition in colleges, students pay more attention to the academic work related to their majors. Some of them even work late at night especially in the testing season. Under such a circumstance, it is unrealistic for them to spare time and effort to receive education in other areas. If they make the decision to take part in courses or activities outside their fields, they should bear the consequences of being left behind by their peers in professional works.

However, taking courses outside students’ major has its unique merits which could benefit a lot to students. Globalisation has made a huge contribution to the prosperity of world’s economy and it will continue to do so. In the meanwhile, this trend also makes globalised companies to hire staff who are capable to do different types of work, such as marketing plan and engineering related work. As a result, People with various job skills become more competitive in the job market. How can people acquire various knowledge? I think learning different kinds of things in the college is the best opportunity to enhance personal abilities, as universities have many resources, such as libraries, speeches given by celebrities and professional teachers, to provide knowledge in disparate majors.

Moreover, the learning process outside students’ own majors enables them to think things in a more comprehensive way. Most arguments nowadays result from people’s inability to think critically, as they don’t have a knowledge system to figure out things that are complicated. For example, environmental activists may only concern the environmental outcomes of certain economic activities, while company owners only care about their profits when operating a firm. If they both have known about the importance of environmental protection and economic prosperity, they may think differently and reach a balance between environment and company operation.

In conclusion, although courses outside students’ field of study may affect their academic work, it is still necessary for them to attend activities and courses in other areas, because they can be well prepared for the future employment and become wiser people to avert biases towards things they are not familiar with.