The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author points out a solution, which is to restrict the number of mopeds the rental companies can rent from 50 per day to 25 per day, to reduce the accidents rate involving mopeds and pedestrians. Such a method seems to be plausible at first glance, but on a closer scrutiny, it relies on several unproved assumptions.

To begin with, the author correlates the increasing population in summer season with the high accident rate. However, the letter only mentions the population increase, but fails to articulate whether such a trend is an aberration or it has already existed for years. Without such information, it is entirely possible that such an increase is due to big social event only held in last summer, which brings a lot of tourists to Balmer Island. Unless the author presents detailed statistical data about the demographic situation, I will not be convinced about the relationship between the population increase and the high number of accidents with mopeds and pedestrians.

Moreover, the author also states that the target of imposing the rental limit is to decrease the number of accidents involving both mopeds and pedestrians. Detailed information regarding the accurate number of mopeds accidents and pedestrians accidents is not presented. It is entirely possible that the number of mopeds accidents is quite low, while the proportion of pedestrian accidents, which may not be caused by mopeds, makes up most of the total accidents happened. If this is the case, the regulation to limit the number of rentals will not achieve the goal, which is to reduce the accidents rate, as expected. Therefore, concrete evidence should be presented to verify that the moped is the main cause of accidents happened in summer season.

Finally, even if the moped is the major cause of so many accidents, imposing such an restriction may not have the desired result. In order to bolster the restriction, the author quotes the achievement made by the neighbouring island of Seaville, where the accident rate has successfully been reduced by 50 percent by introducing a similar restriction. However, the author presents no information about the topography and population about the neighbouring island, which is crucial to make a comparison between these two island. Without such information, it is imprudent to draw the conclusion that by introducing the limitation regulation, the number of accidents will be reduced considerably.

In sum, to support the recommendation, the author need to collect more information about the population data, the causes of accidents in Balmer Island and the comparison between the two islands. In this way, the credibility of the conclusion will be boosted significantly.