The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some people hold the view that human intellect will always be superior to machines as machines are created by humans, while other people are worried about the threat machines pose to human beings because of the improvement of machine intelligence. From my point of view, I fully agree with the former opinion, as machines are created and also can be controlled by humans.

Admittedly, machines are getting more intelligent in past several decades, especially after the new theory of machine learning is introduced. For example, Deep Mind, a subsidiary of Google, invented a deep learning system called Alpha Go, which has the ability to learn how to play the game of go through delving the existing go games. After practicing for several months in go games, Alpha Go defeated the world’s most famous go player in a five-round go contest this year, and people were shocked by the “thinking” ability of the system which is deployed in a computer. Thus, many people think that machines may dominate the world over humans someday.

However, while it is true that machines like computers are evolving into more intelligent ones, people shall not forget that the softwares and hardwares of these machines are developed by humans. As humans have the ability to create these machines, they can also destroy machines. For example, to limit the evolution of machines, engineers can set some software switches in advance and trigger them in case machines evolve too fast and have the possibility to surpass human intellect. Thus, humans can not only reap the benefits of machines but also control the evolution of machines.

In addition, one of the fatal weaknesses of a machine is its inability to deal with unexpected situations. The softwares a machine relies on are pre-loaded and can not be changed if there’s no update to the machine. Therefore, machines can only process predefined situations, such as calculating and other repeated work. If machines are assigned with a new task, they don’t have the ability to execute the task. On the contrary, when encountering a new situation, the critical and creative thinking ability in human minds enables people to carry out a tough task which never happened before.

In sum, although machines now triumph people in areas that require mass calculation ability, people are still superior to machines, as they can not only control the evolution of machines, but also have the thinking ability to handle emergency situations.