Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

On a first notice, recommendation of the vice president of Nature’s Way seems reasonable, while on close examination, there’re some flaws in his suggestion to open a new shop in Plainesville. The following article is aiming to elaborate on the defects which Nature’s Way’s executives need to know before making the final decision.

The vice president has mentioned the growing popularity of local health club, but it doesn’t present the detailed growth rate. What if it only pushes up from 5% to 10%, which is still too small to make any difference to the whole health industry. Therefore, specific data need to be provided to give the whole picture of the advancement of health industry in Plainesville.

However, even if there’re a huge fraction of people working out in clubs to keep themselves healthy, it doesn’t mean the consumption of health food and products will also increase. The need for a healthier body drives ordinary people to do exercise in their daily life, thereby boosting the sales of sports shoes and clothing, which are the basic needs while conducting regular training. When it comes to health food and other related products, they are not the necessities to do exercise. Some people may even hold the view that the reason they do extra exercise is to eat unhealthy food. Hence more researches and surveys need to be done in Plainesville to get to know the buying willingness of people to the health food and products.

Moreover, the mandatory request for schoolchildren to take a fitness program can not be a proper reason to back the opening of a new store. Schoolchildren who join fitness program definitely need to intake more nutritional stuff which is helpful for making them stronger and healthier, but it is not equivalent to the prevailing of health food and products. Parents nowadays have other sources to learn how to provide sufficient nutrition with their children using regular materials like vegetables, meat and fruits rather than expensive health food. Also the effectiveness of health food varies from different people. It is common that one kind of health food is suitable for some people but totally useless for others, which makes parents reluctant to buy health food. Therefore, a specific questionnaire to schoolchildren’s parents regarding health food and products consumption should be conducted, which may be more eloquent to bolster the plan to open a new store.

In sum, more specific information and investigation should be done before drawing the conclusion to start a new store to sell health food and products in Plainesville.