The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Many people argue that the public could contribute to the prosperity of the society by questioning the government. Such a statement is plausible to some extent, but if people protest against their authority excessively, the society may face a serious commotion, which will certainly affect people’s daily lives.

Admittedly, being gifted so much control over its people, the government ought to be regulated within its political territory. Many governments will abuse the power, which is given by the public, to detriment people’s interests and rights. For example, the Soviet Union once put many intellectuals, who hold the opposite views against the authority, into jail or persecuted them until they promised to stop questioning government policies. As leaders of the Soviet Union have infinite power over it people and media, their illegal behaviours were revealed only after the break of the Soviet Union. What they had done would have been impeded if there’s a comprehensive rebellion system.

However, many people are not professional when they are protesting government policies. As we all know, almost all the policies are investigated and formed by experts in different areas. For example, an electricity regulation normally requires opinions from economists, ecologists, etc. It is impossible for many ordinary people to have sufficient knowledge to offer effective advices on professional areas. Thus, their protests towards the authority are sometimes ridiculous and meaningless, let alone have the ability to contribute to the well-being of the society.

In addition, if many people gather together to express their dissatisfactory to the government, it may cause some irrational behaviours which could affect people’s daily lives. For example, many protests will end up as a commotion, which cause many people injured or even dead. This kind of protests certainly have nothing to with the well-being of the society, but lead to the chaos of some places.

In sum, although the government’s power should be limited, people also need to acquire more information and behave legally when questioning the authority. Otherwise, it may not achieve the expected results or even undermine the well-being of the society.