TPO-10: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of technology, the computer games have become more and more popular among children. However, some people propose that we should not allow children to play computer games as they think playing computer games is a waste of time. As far as I am concerned, I disagree with this opinion as I strongly believe that children will benefit from computer games if they play them in a reasonable way.

First of all, computer games can help children to be more creative and innovative. Nowadays, a lot of computer games are associated with scientific stories like star war, which will not only cultivate children's interest in space, but only broaden their imagination about the world outside earth. Once the children get to know more about the space and astronomy, it is possible that their potential in science will be developed. Some children will find themselves interested in becoming an astronomer in the future and the other may find themselves very good at designing spaceship and aircraft in the future. This is one of possible benefits they could get from computer games.

Moreover, computer games can train the children to be smarter. There are studies indicating that playing computer games can improve the functionality of our brains because a lot of computer games require quick thinking and quick response from the players. Indeed, more and more games are designed to develop children's intelligence. Consequently, as long as parents choose the games for their children wisely, playing games could be a good practice to develop children's intelligence.

Last but not least, playing computer games can be a good way for children to relax themselves from the stressful school works. The current young generation is facing a very high competition from the society that the previous generation never faced before. They have to spend much more time in study than we did before and learn much more things, such as second language and musical instrument, so that they could be more competitive after they grow up. As a result, they can get depressed from the stressful studies easily and they need some entertainment to release their stress. Playing computer games could one of the entertainment for them. As long as they don't get too obsessed with the games and only play them during weekend or after they finish homework, I don't see any problem with that.

In conclusion, I don't think playing computer games is a waste of time for children as long as we make sure that they play them in a reasonable way, so there is no reason to block their access to computer games completely.