Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The fast pace of urbanisation in some countries has an adverse impact on the preservation and generation of cultural traditions instead of making a contribution to the prosperity of them. This essay is going to justify my statement and clarify the relationship between the development of the city and cultural traditions.

Admittedly, cities have more funds and other resources which can protect cultural traditions from extinction. For example, big cities like New York and Shanghai have many museums which preserve historical relics, paintings(复数不要忘记) and other precious calligraphic writings. Such facilities are normally not available in remote areas, as they need a lot of funds and people to construct and maintain. Besides, institutions and people in big cities have more professional knowledge about how to effectively protect the cultural traditions, as they are more likely to be well-educated.

However, sometimes the development of cities take a toll on cultural traditions. For instance, people who work and live in big cities are so busy that they have to eat fast food like KFC and Subway on workdays. Such a lifestyle not only poses a threat to people’s health, but also impair people’s willingness to cook traditional cuisine. As a result, traditional food may die out gradually. By contrast, people who live in small towns don’t have too much pressure on their daily lives. Therefore, many people cook food in the traditional ways. For example, some small villages in China still keep the habit to use wood as the heating material instead of gasoline.

Moreover, even if the cultural traditions are well preserved in cities, it can not guarantee the prosperity of big cities, as there’re many aspects related to cities’ development. The top ranking aspect to evaluate a city is its economic state, because people will feel insecure if the city has been trapped into an economic recession. Also, the preservation of cultural traditions may be affected due to the downturn of economy, as people’s basic physical needs can not be satisfied(fulfilled —> satisfied). In addition, educational system are another aspect which id significant to evaluate a city. Without a better educational systems, children are not able to receive good education and this is going to affect the society in the long term.

In sum, I’m in favour of the government taking the responsibility to pour more funds to cities, which they need to thrive, but the money should not be all spent to the protection of cultural traditions, instead, more attention need to be paid to the economy and fundamental infrastructure like educational system to make sure people in cities live a decent life. In this way, cultural preservations will also be benefited in the long run.