It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author of statement points out that people can truly define themselves through identification with social groups. I’m partly agreed with this assertion, as no one can entirely live outside the social groups. However, if people stay too close with social organisations, it may disrupt their ability to think independently and critically.

Admittedly, with the fast growing of modern society, people are inevitable to engage in some social activities, whether such activities are online or in the real world. Through participating in some social groups, people can acquire different information, which may be helpful to adjust their own views toward specific fields. For example, as we all know, internet industry has experienced enormous changes in the past several decades. People working in this industry like software engineers need to upgrade their knowledge to avoid being left behind by others. To achieve this goal, attending related workshops is the best way to absorb the first hand information. Thus, modern society requires people to be part of some social groups so as to improve personal abilities.

However, being too close with social groups may lead to counterproductive results, as people may lose themselves in others’ ideas. For example, the Culture Revolution in China in 1960s could be defined as a catastrophe. The public worked and ate together, which made the people lack private lives. Everyone felt safe to stay with the groups, and people with their own thoughts were persecuted for being traitors of the main views. Under such a pressed social milieu, many intellectuals chose to end their lives with suicide. It was an tragedy to China and led to a great recession lasting at least a decade. Thus, the public should be vigilant about the penetration of group ideas into our own mind, as people’s independent thinking ability is crucial for personal development and well-being.

Summing up, while the importance of personal identification with social groups should not be overlooked, because people can learn a lot from others’ opinions, it is equally crucial to remember that people need to be alert about social activities to avert relying too much on other people’s views.