Claim: Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience.

Reason: People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim states that imagination is more important than experience, as people can imagine freely if they are not constrained by the established habits and attitudes. However, I fully disagree with the claim and the reason it is based, since both imagination and experience are vital in contributing to one’s achievement and people are able to thinking imaginatively even with their existed attitudes.

Admittedly, many adults are confined by their past experiences, and thus are incapable of thinking creatively compared to children who don’t have too many attitudes. Under the fierce competition of modern society, most people tend to finish their work in a quick and easy way. Such a behaviour pattern leads them to think less about whether there are better solutions to the work. Thus, they accumulate more working experience, but have difficulties dealing with new tasks which need imagination. On the contrary, children, who do not have much experience toward specific areas, sometimes can come out with creative thoughts which shock many adults, for example, many children use their imagination to draw pictures about the world, which is totally different from the depiction in the media, in outer space, while adults could only draw things according to their existing recognition.

However, there are also many people who both have the imaginative thinking ability and experiences from their everyday lives. For example, Picasso, one of the famous artists in the world, had created many different types of drawings through his hard work to combine his previous drawing styles with creative thoughts. It is imprudent to assert that all his workings are because of his imagination. In fact, he was a person who experienced a lot in his life time, both the good and bad things that contributed to his marvellous paintings. Also, he made the full use of his experience to avert many mistakes in his career.

In sum, although it is undeniable that people’s existing habits and attitudes do have an impact on their imagination, they can still reconcile these two elements to both think creatively and using past experience to avoid many mistakes.