The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

With the continuous development of technology in past decades, people now can avoid a lot of the unnecessary labour work in their daily lives, such as washing clothes and dishes. Although someone refutes that technological advancement has brought too much leisure time and resulted in some plagues which have an adverse effect on people, I personally support that the benefits it brings outweigh its defects.

One of the concerns people may have about modern technology is that it makes many people become lazier. For example, most modern families now have washing machines which help them wash clothes and dishes. Although they now have more leisure time with the help of these devices, most of the time is wasted with insipid TV shows and social media instead of making the full use of it to master some living skills, such as cooking and learning new subjects. Moreover, such an unhealthy lifestyle also has led to some health problems, such as obesity, which could put a lot of extra burden on the medicare system.

However, there’re also some positive aspects the technology development has brought to us. As we all know, the fast growing technology has emancipated human being in many different fields, including housework, overlapping calculating work, etc. With the extra time saved by sophisticated machines, people have more time to develop their own interests, which is a must in today’s competitive society. Imagine the life in several decades ago, most ordinary people were tired in maintaining things that of little value, but they had to do them, because there’s no other way to do their work. By contrast, modern society has changed a lot the ways people do things compared to decades ago, and thus people’s living standards have increased considerably.

In addition, more leisure time means people now have more chances to develop relationships with their families and friends. For example, people can hold parties and go hiking with their relatives and friends on weekends if they have completed their work efficaciously. In this way, they are able to experience the marvellous nature and the happiness in their lives. Consider the life without so many highly efficient machines, people may still live a hectic life and deal with meaningless work. Thus, the basic goal of technological development should continue to improve the efficiency, thereby rescuing people from the nightmare of busy lifestyle.

In sum, more spare time means we can spend more time in things we are truly interested with and with people we really care about. However, to make better use of the extra leisure time, we need to overcome our laziness and form a healthy lifestyle.