We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Most people are in favour of views that are similar with their own thoughts, as they can avoid further arguments with different views. However, they also lose the opportunity to learn from other people’s unique understanding about specific topics.

It is hard for people who hold opposite opinions to have a rational discussion. One of the human natures is that people tend to convince others to accept their ideas. With such a nature, they will try every method to achieve their goal and it easily leads to a fierce quarrel instead of an opportunity to intake great thoughts from others. For example, social media like Facebook or Twitter today are full of bad words between people who have different views about current hot topics. This only causes the chaos and rage in people's minds other than effective learning process.

However, people can acquire certain knowledge from others’ views, because it’s a good way to inspire deeper thoughts. When looking at something in the first place, people are more likely to think in traditional ways and draw superficial conclusions. It is until different views appear they will find their previous thoughts are so naive. With the help of contradictory opinions, people can reevaluate their ideas and think deeply to make some adjustments to their previous thoughts. In this way, incisive and eloquent thoughts are formed which can be more widely accepted. For example, debating contest is a typical process to learn from others. Debaters need to listen carefully to seek for their competitors’ defects and make the best use of them to win the debate.

Moreover, different views enable people to think comprehensively. People have to admit their limitations towards specific areas. It is common that one person only thinks of one or two aspects of a topic, which is a natural shortcoming of human being. As for the method to overcome this defect, trying to absorb thoughts from others is the best way. People who want to think comprehensively have many sources to learn from others, such as following others’ social media accounts or reading books and magazines. If people are not willing to accept others’ intellectual views, they may be isolated from the outside world and left behind by the wiser ones.

In conclusion, although opposite views may result in fruitless arguments, they also encourage people to think deeply and comprehensively about different things.