It is important for the children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Perception on right and wrong needs to be developed in the children at an early age. Some people advocate for punishing the minor to help them understand the difference between good and bad. I strongly disagree with the context and the essay will discuss on the disadvantages of punishing the children along with the modality of punishment by the parents or teachers to the young one regarding teaching them the good manners.

Firstly, Home is the primary school of any children followed by the schools. The distinction between the good and bad, right and wrong and the types of manner inherited by the individuals depends on the environment in which they grow-up. I believe, it is more of a cordial environment around the children than the punishment that helps developing good manners. The children are considered as a raw mud which can be shaped according to the porters wish, thus it more than just a punishment that helps mending their future.

The punishment can have a detrimental effect on the individual psychology. The children might even take the matter wrongly which may even shatter their career and way of thinking. The physical harassment in addition to extortion and mental stress may demotivate the child attending school or maintaining distance from the parents. According to the BBC Nepal report, an average of 10 percent children below the six standards drop out the schools due to physical extortion in the schools of rural Nepal.

However, I suggest teacher and parents need to stand themselves up as a role model implying the practical distinction of right and wrong doing. Additionally, rewards to the good behavior and discouragement to the bad or wrong doing in a rational manner can be a better solution. Reluctance to the wrong doing can be further checked by making the punishment fit the crime, which may include additional home-works, performing their know-how in front of classroom, fund management through fining in wrong doing, etc which would lead to a long term positive impact on the child.