It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

It is widely recognized that showing children how to differentiate the right and wrong things in life is important, and punishment should be used to educate children on that matter. In my perspective, I partially agree with that opinion and would like to express the sort of punishment suitable for building good behavior for children.

On the one hand, the distinction between the right and wrong would help children to behave appropriately at schools and workplaces then gain more success. Actually, when the children grow up and involve in many social relations at colleges or offices, a good behavior can render them an easier path to co-operate with classmates and colleagues. As a result, the study and work performance, in general, could be improved. On the other hand, regarding the effectiveness of punishment in educating children, it seems to me that such method might not be necessary in comparison to amicable communication between kids and adults. In facts, punishment would probably cause aggressive manner at children because they, at an early age, have a tendency to ignore punishment and merely cry when they make mistakes. Oppositely, communicating amicably can drive children more time to express their own opinion and listen what teachers or parents explain to them.

Furthermore, the sort of punishment should come from a gentle form such as sitting alone in a room or cutting their playtime instead of violence. It can be seen from the fact that the way we treat them would be reflected in their behavior. Thus, to teach good behavior for children, adults have to interact with children in a polite and understanding way.

In conclusion, I believe that showing children the right things to do is very important, but punishment is not a vital factor to educate children except for the gentle and non-violent sorts.