In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The spending of state budget is always a top concern of many countries. Regarding this amount of money, some people are of a belief that the expenditure on the construction of new railway lines is necessary for travelling between cities rather than on upgrading public transportation system. However, I personally support the idea that the state budget should be distributed reasonably to both new railway lines and the improvement of current public means of transport.

It is widely held view that the budget should be essentially allocated to build new lines for the convenience of transportation between metropolises. Actually, the construction of railways system would connect various locations and then render citizens easy access to every city corner. This access probably acts as a precursor for the development of some faraway areas. Take Ha Dong District, a 15-kilometre faraway location from city center, as an example, this area became a vivid and bustling district after the government invested in the public bus and railway infrastructure such as Bus Rapid Transportation (BRT) or Metro Rapid Transportation (MRT) to connect Ha Dong with the city center and other financial centers.

On the other hand, the maintenance and renovation facilitate the usage of public transportation in and between metropolises. It is almost certain that these means could be damaged due to severe weather and normal tear and wear and could not operate efficiently. For example, the old buses in Hanoi currently emit a high amount of carbon dioxide and dust into the atmosphere due to its outdated spare parts. Therefore, the state budget spending on maintenance and improvement will probably fix the mechanical breakdowns arising out of the operation and maintain a qualified operating status for such public means.

In conclusion, I gravitate towards the opinion of balancing the budget spending on new construction of railway lines and the renovation of current public infrastructure.