It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

There is not gainsaying the fact that learning the difference between right and wrong at an early age has become essential for children’s growth and development. Although some people claim that punishment is an effective way to ensure them to do the right thing, I personally believe it is not necessarily a good method of teaching children good values, but teaching them effectively by making things clear to them would be an appropriate method.

To initiate with, how punishing can be prejudicial. Punishment might hurt a child’s feelings and thereby create negative impact on his heart and soul. Learners do not know any better; thus, grown-ups need to be more forgiving. For example, if children say inappropriate words, it would be better for progenitors or mentors to tell them it is not right to use those words and explaining can help them truly understand why that behavior is wrong. If a child does something wrong out of innocence, blindly grounding him or order him to stand in a corner would only make the child even more confused and plan the seed of hatred which is not healthy for his growth.

In addition to this, punishment is not as humane or effective as education is. Parents and teachers should set good examples for children to follow. Children do need proper guidance. Recent research shows that 80% of children who receive guidance and advice from their parents are often regarded as good students and behave in a good demeanor. In contrast, punished children are more likely to resent it and behave badly as a way to release the stress from punishment.

Despite such benefits, some proponents claim that punishment is something that every child has to be through on the way to become a good person. In fact, punishment should be based on reason. It has to be light, and not too harsh. And it must serve the purpose of education. To illustrate, a child breaking a glass should be asked to replace it. He or she should be encouraged to earn money to buy a new glass by helping their parents do the housework. This kind of punishment should be promoted as it is plausible while effectively sending the message that everyone must be responsible for all of their mistakes.

In conclusion, punishing children is not what parents and teachers ought to consider as an ut-most precedence. Guiding and making the positive message clear to them matters above all else. Parents and teachers had better inculcate good morals effectively in order to enrich their rectitude.