Some people believe that they have right to keep all their earnings and can neglect taxes. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Considering an irrefutable fact that taxes have become bane for almost all the citizens ubiquitously. To which, a lot of people believe that it can be overlooked as earner has right to possess all its earnings. In my opinion, paying taxes is a duty of all responsible citizens only if taxes are kept to certain level.

When it comes to paying taxes, it becomes quite understandable that why some people get unhappy about it. The core of their emotion is, it takes away the major portion of their income. For instance, in India, salaried people have to pay 30% direct tax on their salary along with indirect tax applied on goods and services, such as food items, they purchase from the already taxed salary. Besides, only a small section of society falls under taxable group which creates huge pressure on these people and leads to dissatisfaction towards tax. Thus, many people attempt to escape from taxes in whichever way possible.

However, taxes are major sources of revenue for any nation which is why it is extremely crucial for betterment of any society in the long run. Moreover, money collected from taxes is utilized for the larger good of the community by constructing better infrastructure, such as improvement in connectivity by building roads and railway, for people. Take for an example of role of good transportation in development of business and thus, uplifting living standards of every individual. In other words, tax is nothing but a charge one pay for using public properties in his/her day-to-to life. Thus, instead of avoiding, people should consider it as their duty and pay their fair share to governments.

In conclusion, although there is distress in public due to unequal distribution of taxes, obliviousness towards taxes is never acceptable. Authorities should strike a balance to create equilibrium so that effective system is established to encourage more people to pay their taxes regularly.