It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this option? What sort of punishment should parents and

Discipline and punishment play an vital role on parenting , particularly helping children discriminate between wrong and right. I partly agree with the view that punishment is necessary ,despite it consists of some efficient ways, but I believe it could be better if other ways could be used into parenting.

It's sometimes true that penalties are fundamental for children's nurture. They can be helpfully responsible for child's inappropriate behavior. Such punishment consists of taking away privileges, time outs and corporal punishments. The first approach means if a child misbehaves, he or she may be forbidden doing what he or she like such as watching TV. Then time outs refers to establishing a quite place for child's thinking himself or herself and self-inspiring after mistakes taking places. And corporal punishment is physical like slapping and spanking etc..

Although there're many useful ways in punishment for teaching children such a essential lesson in their lives, I believe it will have bad influences and it could be wiser if other measures participate in the course. For one thing, if a child is given overwhelming penalties specially corporal punishments , he or she may have negative consequences. For example, they might be violent and start bullying other children or even think that hurting someone you love is okay. So I think parent should be supported by adding other more important ways. Firstly , creating a mutual-trust , healthy, positive and supportive relationship between children and parents is fundamental. Then communication is indispensable; because children will get well-disciplined if custodians know the reasons behind their inappropriate activities. Finally, parents should be authoritative -- which means to have clear expectations and consequences, and to show affection toward children. The approaches above are key in parenting, I think.

In conclusion, I reckon that punishments should not be used solely , but be supported other key approaches will be better.