It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents an

It is believed that chi.dren at an early age must develop the sense of right and wrong. But sometimes, without proper guidance with their guardians this stage can result in confusion to their judgment which develop rebellious attitude. Therefore is it necessary to apply punishment for young children to identify the distinction of right and wrong?

Punishment comes in many forms and some may not be an effective technique for children to identify what is wrong and right. Punishing a child can be in forms of inflicting physical pain, verbal reprimanding and giving penalties. An article about this can be found in an American Magazine titled Parenting 2016. It says that forms of punishment like physical and verbal are not the best way to discipline a child. In fact these forms of punishment can result to psychological confusion. Moreover, if a parents scolds a child from doing bad things, it discourages independent judgment of a young child. Without their parents they became confused whether their action is right and wrong. Which can be carried on until they grow up.

Parents may discipline their youngones in a way allows learning of good deeds through teaching. Setting limits and rules are the best examples of these methods. For example if a youngster did something that is within the rules then he or she is labeled good. Firm conviction to these rules are the keys for this technique to be effective. Another one, is giving a timeout, this provides time to a child to be alone for a while and facing the wall. Then their guardian will ask realizations they made about their action. This encourage independent judgement to what is right and wrong.

In school, positive reinforcement can bring awareness for pupils on their good deeds without comparison among other children. The teacher can ask individual positive accomplishment in the class. Each child will share all the good things he or she has done like sharing a crayon with its classmates and helping in school activities. In response, the teacher can give positive confirmation such as good job and well done. Sometimes giving stars and stickers makes this system more fun and interesting. Which encourages young people to do positive deeds in school and home.

In conclusion, the importance of differentiating right from wrong in an early age is very crucial for children. Hence applying punishment is not necessary for it can result into confusion and dependent judgment for some youngsters. Other techniques to discipline children are setting limits and firm rules by parents. At school positive reinforcement develops a sense of approval that encourages pupils to do good things.