It is important for people to take risks both in their professional lives and their personal lives Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages

It is often argued that people should take risks in order to better their work and personal lives. While there are some disadvantages, I believe the benefits of taking risks outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are several negative effects for taking risks. Firstly, risk taking may affect people’s health. This is because some field of works are often asking workers to sacrifice for their profession, which can affect their well-being in the long term. For instance, coal miners have to expose their lungs to coal dust, which in turns can increase the chance of them having lung problems in the future. Secondly, taking risks too often can make people feel unsatisfied with their life, which means they will constantly compare their life with their peers. As a result, they might continuously risk taking even though they already achieved amazing results because they can not be satisfied with their life.

On the other hand, I would argue that the merits of risk taking dwarf the drawbacks. To begin with, people will be more fulfilled with their career choice. This can help people to confidently resign from jobs that might not excite them, and look for the professions that can fulfill them both financially and mentally. For example, in Vietnam, software developers often switched their jobs every 2 years for better salary and work environment. Furthermore, risk taking can help people learn from their mistakes. Many famous people have taken risks with some having succeeded on their first try while others have to go through trials and errors to get their results, and the ones that fail have learned from their mistakes and improved their own products and inventions. To illustrate, Gary Vee, who is an investor, had failed many businesses in the past, and now has become one of the most prolific investors after he had learned from his past business mistakes.

In conclusion, although risk taking can have several drawbacks, I believe that the benefits would outweigh the drawbacks.