It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, citizens all cross the world have been facing unpredictable outbreak of diseases. It is argued that the state should increase their spending on raising public awareness of a healthy way of living rather on providing timely treatment for already ill people. I will discuss both aspects of the matter, before presenting my own opinion.

On the one hand, without a doubt, “prevention is better than cure”, therefore authorities should have feasible policies in making it residents adopt a healthy lifestyle. The popularity of health programs, campaigns and name it a few invested by governments which make an important to enhancing people’s awareness health problems. Thanks to those, they can be better informed of adequate and useful knowledge by health experts, related to potential risks resulting in bad habits. For an example, instead of excessive consumption of junk food, people are likely to make healthier food choices or prepare slap-up meals at home on a daily basis which can prevent the high incidence of obesity and other fatal diseases.

In addition to their long-term positive effects on people’s frame mind, although such campaigns are cost-effective, the authorities still need to allocate a certain amount of money to convey positive messages via social networking sites or conducting various workshops to share advice and experience to the public. Because, the hospital fees are expensive in some countries, especially developed ones that only the rich can afford, the government cannot ignore its obligation in improving their medical system as well as assisting the already ill patients covering their medical fees besides raising public awareness. More importantly, the authorities’ role in offering aid for treating the sick is a moral duty.

In conclusion, although allocating a part of national budgets to promoting residents’ healthier lifestyle plays a crucial role, the government should not neglect its concern on the supply of medical treatments and sponsor an amount of money for those currently being ill.