It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree of disagree?

To a certain extent, I completely believe that public funds are more essential than spending on the treatment of individuals already ill for the promotion of a safe lifestyle in order to avoid illness.

There are two main reasons why national money should be spent more on encouraging a healthy lifestyle to avoid disease than on treating those who are already unwell. In terms of expenses, effective prevention is, in the long run, less costly than cure, for both patients and the whole society as well. In particular, effective illness prevention will reduce the number of patients, which will lower the state’s spending on healthcare services. Take the coronavirus, for example, the government underestimates the danger of this virus, so they do not take timely preventive measures and as a result, this pandemic spread across the globe and millions of people have died. Moreover, hospitals were full and did not have enough oxygen for people so the government has to buy it from other nations which caused a lot of money, time and effort to purchase and transport it back to the country.

A healthy lifestyle free of fast food should be advocated so that individuals avoid ailments resulting from eating such as obesity and many cardiovascular diseases. It is also should be regularly pointed out by the authorities that living a healthy life by working out on a daily basis will improve people’s immune system, avoid various inflammations and mental health problems, such as depression. As a result, fewer patients will have to visit hospitals, thus, reduce the amount of money spent on hospitalization and other medical fees.

In conclusion, for the reason I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that the spending of government's money should be centered on illness prevention by raising public awareness of regular exercise and healthy eating habits.