Some people think the qualities a person needs to become successful in today’s world cannot be learned at a university or similar academic institution.To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

To a certain extent, I agree that in today's society, universities and other academic institutions cannot equip students with qualities necessary for their success in life. However, I also believed that these qualities can be fully learned at schools as long as the student is conscious of self-improvement.

There are two main reasons why that knowledge and skills that are necessary for their life success such as time-management and leadership can also be learned in schools, by doing all the assignments and activities. For instance, they can learn how to successfully manage their time budget by attempting to finish all the homework before the deadline. Furthermore, they can join some clubs to be more active and responsible. Thanks to group projects, pupils can know how to show solidarity with others and better their ability to lead a team.

Apart from the practical benefits expressed above,l I believed that it is still not enough for an individual to become fully grow since only students who have a thirst for improvement can make good use of their school life to equip themselves with necessary qualities for their success. In schools, teachers tend to teach basic and theoretical knowledge while in a real situation, it might not happen in that sense of ways so you adults, when coming to life, may not perform well in work, this results in unemployment or a job with low salary. Moreover, young employees usually fall behind with their co-workers because they are too overwhelmed by how life in society is more complicated and intense than they have imagined.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believed that life experience, failures, relationships are more important than knowledge in some old books. At the same time, I also think that academic institutions including universities are good places for undergraduates to gain qualities essential for their successful life.