It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science. What are the causes? And what will be effects on society?

Nowadays there is a worrisome tendency that the number of pupils choosing to study the science-related subjects is inadequate. This tendency resulted from several causes and it obviously has numerous severe impacts on society

On the one hand, there is a variety of explanations for the shortage of science specialized students. First and foremost, science is considered as a difficult subject. It is irrefutable that there is a wide range of hypotheses, formulas and calculations in the scientific issues, which requires using higher cognitive skills including analysis and evaluation. Besides, science seems to be very fatigue and distress since learns need to devote a great deal of time and effort to it. Therefore, many student are being hesitated when thinking about this major. Another reason that is worth mentioning is the lack of practical experiments. There seem to be shreds of evidence that spending time in the laboratory has been quite unfamiliar with the science-based subject as the facilities do not allow it to happen. As a result, students learn mostly from textbooks and listening lectures, which allegedly monotonous and doctrinaire

Consequently, the shortage of science undergraduates leads to a knock-on effect on society as a whole. First of all, it associated with a lack of scientists and engineers in the near future who made a contribution to the development of one nation. Hence, the scientific and technological breakthrough is also less likely to happen due to the scarcity of talent in these fields. This worst-case scenario will not only the science field but also the other areas of the community. Take agriculture as an example. The agricultural productivity is increased at a slow rate since there will be hardly any scientific left in this field. In the second place, not enough students choosing to study science is synonymous with inadequate occupation distribution. An illustration of this is that the students will suffer from more competitive examinations to enter the non-science major. Furthermore, there will be higher unemployment rate and many student will be forced to work seasonal and low-paid jobs to earn for living

To sum up, since the science is considered as difficult and lack of practical experience, it is understandable that not every student want to be in this major. However, this will lead to several negative effects on not only the science fields but also the other areas. Moreover, there also higher unemployment rates due to the uneven job distributio