It is sometimes said that people should be encouraged to get married before they are 30, as this is best both for the individual and for societyDo you agree or disagree?

In most parts of the world, when individuals reach 30 years of age, they are considered mature enough to get married. Moreover, it is treated as a prime age for a number of reasons. As far as I am concerned, this opinion may not be agreeable in all cases.

To elaborate, once a human passes the teenage, he enters the real world and starts leading independent life. As a result, he comes across multiple challenges which makes him more responsible and wise. Decision making, financial planning and social awareness are some key lessons taught during this period. Consequently, more maturity is attained by the time he reaches 30. In many societies this is a common scenario among many, which provoked them to think it as a right age to marry.

On the other hand, this is the phase when most people start earning and so wish to fulfill their dreams, especially related to pleasure. While some people like to travel, some wish to buy their favorite gadgets which are unaffordable during their earlier years. For instance, a survey recently showed that a high percentage of travelers these days are people below 30 years of age. That being said, marriage may confine their joy to some extent as a result of added responsibility of family.

Additionally, a predetermined age for wedding may create an additional pressure among bachelors and their parents. Especially, in countries like India where arranged marriages are prominent, this is a usual occurrence. Additionally, economic status of each person differs and hence their readiness for marriage may vary.

On the whole, while getting married before 30 may have some benefits, there are some cons for individuals as well as their parents. After all, marriage should be a choice left to a person, not to society.