Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Replacing small groceries by the department stores is rapidly gaining popularity all over the world and I believe this is a negative development. This essay will discuss reasons for my view.

Firstly, the inadequacy of small retailers leads to the decrease in local living quality. In fact, the family run businesses offer the employment and income for households in the local. Therefore, none of small stores which is usually owned by the people in the villages has a result of the increase in unemployment rates at that place. Hence, their income may not be enough for living standard such as not having enough money spending for the their bills or tuition for their children.

Secondly, customers could pay more money for the products that are sold in the anchor stores than in the smaller ones. It is because the owner of the department might suffer much expenditure on different sections such as rent, decoration and staffs, so the cost of the items is higher than their real value. For example, the price of a skirt which is sold in the market may be two times lower than the same one in the supermarket.

Finally, it wastes more time to go shopping in the large store rather the in the small ones. The fact of that, there are various products in the chain stores, from garments to foods, from basic electricity devices to the cutting-edge technological gadgets, so people are easier to be attracted and lost much time to go around. Moreover, queueing in the long line for paying becomes prevalent in the big shops and that makes people to waste time. In contrast, if people go shopping in the small retailers, they are prone to ask, pay and take what they need in minutes.