Large shopping malls are replacing small shops Do you think it is a positive or negative development

The recent development of large shopping malls is abolishing small shops. This is controversial whether it is a positive or negative change, and I believe there are both good and bad aspects for each.

On the one hand, small shops present numbers of benefits for local residents. First of all, their lower capital investment makes it possible for average families to run them, while shopping malls need huge funds for constitution and maintenance. In addition, as these shops are smaller in size too, higher numbers of them exist in the area, meaning that they are distributed through residential regions and simplify access in the case of emergency or lack of time, as well as reducing traffic congestion. The last but not least advantage of small shops is that their management by local residents helps the area financially, by circulating money between different members, and boosts the level of trust and sympathy among neighbors, for instance, in less privileged areas, people can purchase their needs and pay for them at their convenience.

On the other hand, several advantages can be discussed for large shopping malls. First and foremost is the variety provision for customers, which is an influence of wider storage practices for supermarkets or higher number of shops as per other objects like clothes. Besides, their higher rate of sales, enables them to provide up-to-date products or fresh materials, in case of groceries or food. Putting all these parameters together, saving on scale happens in large stores which leads to offering more discounts to costumers, encouraging them to prefer these stores to the small shops near their homes, and results in bothering to take long commutes and allocate more time for their shopping, since large shopping malls are usually located at crowded non-residential regions or in the countryside.

To sum up, I personally believe that there are bright and dark sides to the emergence of large shopping malls. While they offer more variety and discounts, they are not as easily accessible as local shops, and present financial threats for them as well.