We are increasingly becoming dependent on computers They are used in business hospitals crime detection and even to fly planes What things will they be used in the future Is this dependence on computers a good thing or should we be more suspicious of

The utilization of computers in different areas is becoming more and more prevalent in everyday life. We can hardly find a profession without the intervention of computers. From my point of view, this trend will be even more prevailing in the near future. Some argue that computers may be a threat to humankind, although I believe that if we use them correctly, it will never happen.

As per the rapid emerging of computer technology, I think the better question is to ask if there will be things in the future that do NOT concern computers at all, since this technology is spreading to every corner of our lives. For instance, driverless cars which are guided by computers, are becoming really popular throughout the world. Therefore, rare parts of our lives will survive from the enhancements of computers.

In terms of dependence on computers and whether this is a good thing or we should care about it, two factors come to mind. The first is the accuracy of their results and actions, and the second is the moral aspects of their behavior. With regard to the former, studies show that human error can be as devastating as that of computers. As the human mind is definitely much intricate and we are not able to perfectly control it, while programming computers and improving their functions by means of technology and science, is absolutely possible. On the other hand, ethics are another concern of people regarding computers, as we saw in the movie “Matrix” that one-day computers may catch control of our world in opposition to human. From my personal standpoint, this is a misconception and can be easily solved by implementing regulations based on humanity in the production of computers.

To sum up, from my perspective, the fast emergence of computer technology within our lives is seemingly inevitable and this would be more beneficial to engage in practices in order to enhance the technical and ethical aspects of computer’s activity to make it safe for society.