In the last decade, there has been a great increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. This has been welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, however, other students see these courses as less effective than classroom teaching.

There have been an increasing number of online courses for students over a decade. Most students have been taken advantages of these courses as they offer flexible schedules to study and to communicate with teachers, while others say they are not as efficient as traditional ones in terms of practical knowledge and a career prospect. This essay will outline both benefits and drawbacks of online study.

The Internet have changed the standard of education since it was invented which provides flexibility for students. Firstly, with the advancement of this technology, learners can study whenever they want. Furthermore, once they have laptops and access for the network, these people can continue their study anywhere, such as at home and at work. Another advantage of this approach can be communication with teachers. Students, who want to ask questions or even hand in home assignments, can do this by sending emails. Online study, therefore, have significantly changed the style of education which is still bringing benefits for students.

In contrast, it is important that traditional education is not overlooked. There are several domains where students need in-person courses to master the science, such as chemistry which is impossible to be learned without practice. The students who have selected this subject not only are limited with theoretical knowledge, but also primarily rely on simulations which are less likely to improve their practical skills. There is also an evidence that the quality of classroom education is highly valued by employers in contrast to online study. Once applications are sent for jobs, in most cases candidates may not be selected if they have never attended universities.

In conclusion, online education is a perfect opportunity for students who prefer learning more flexibly. On the other hand, it may be underestimated by employers, perhaps, for solely offering a theory and a simulation.